Creative Juiciness

Standard

It was the morning of the art workshop I had signed up for at the Women’s Centre. My goodness! I have not picked up a paintbrush in years! How on earth will I fare???

So, I quietened myself down, and brought it before my Creator. “Well, Lord, anything You want to tell me about today?”

The reply came immediately.

“Play!”

I laughed and headed off to meet my tutor, British artist, Katz Cowley! What a gorgeous girl! The soul of inspiration and encouragement! To the sweet and laughing Katz, everything was “yummy”! So you can imagine how yummy we all felt at the end of a day marinating in our own creative juices.

She got us to paint according to our senses: based on the music we heard, the birds’ feathers we gazed at, the spices we sniffed, the secret something that we palpated inside a brown paper bag, and the tart and tantalizing lollies we rolled around on our tongues.

Katz had such a rich repertoire of artistic techniques that we reveled in PLAYING like children. It was a day for forgetting our roles and responsibilities as wives, mothers, and career women, and dabbling, instead, in various colors and media, splashing in the refreshing pool of new ideas.

Do you know how wondrous it is to try your hand at something you’ve never done before?

I have to confess that, in the past, this would have been a worrisome task. Being a compulsive perfectionist, I would have driven myself to be the BEST in the group, to outdo everyone else and win the kudos of my tutor. But this time, I made a simple and pivotal decision. I decided NOT to look at what anyone else was doing or how anyone else was faring. Why give myself a reason to feel envious or triumphant at another’s expense? I intuitively knew that, once I started sneaking a peek into the creative endeavors of my classmates, all of my own creative genius would shrivel up…because I would not be creating; I would be competing.

So, I gave myself to the task MINDFULLY, consciously, joyously. I flowed with what I was doing, even forced myself NOT to play safe…to scratch deep dark gouges of red oil pastel over my nice, neat, perfect, little etchings. It was very freeing!

Katz kept reminding us not to take things so seriously…this was our chance to experiment, she urged. It wasn’t easy fighting years of programming to “Do it once, do it right!” But, I kept telling myself, “Now’s your chance! You have this day to do things differently, to cut loose, and let your inner imp have full rein! PLAY!!!

And you know what?

I did!

And it was incredibly, blissfully Yummylicious!!! šŸ™‚

2 responses »

  1. Wow! How utterly yumilicious to find this wonderfully glowing and eloquent account of your creative juice experience and delving into your wild creative side…pray tell, which wonderous creative scribed this delightful account?! Can I please have your permission to put this on my new up and coming website?

    With delight!
    Katz x

  2. First — can I tell you how excited I am that you finally started a blog!?!? I’m already subscribed. šŸ™‚ (And good for you, you chose WordPress. The best platform — by far! I’m still kicking myself that I didn’t start on WordPress.)

    I loved this post — because it really rang true for me, although I never really considered it. I do find myself dancing between creating and competing a lot. In one I find complete freedom, in the other complete containment. This was such a great reminder to just let go and let your creativity take flight.

Leave a Reply

